2021 NMUN•DC Awards



Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

Outstanding Delegations		
Armenia	Florida Atlantic University	
Australia	Long Island University	
Botswana	California State University, Northridge	
Cambodia	Riverside City College	
Canada	Florida Atlantic University	
Congo	Florida Atlantic University	
Ecuador	Pepperdine University	
Ireland	University of New Haven	
Jamaica	University of New Haven	
Kazakhstan	Monmouth University	
Madagascar	Brigham Young University	
Могоссо	California State University, Chico	
New Zealand	St. Petersburg College	
Saudi Arabia	Brigham Young University	

Distinguished Delegations		
Cameroon	Pace University	
Denmark, Bolivia (UNEA)	U.S. Air Force Academy	
Finland	The Catholic University of America	
Georgia	The University of Texas at Dallas	
India	The College of Idaho	
Indonesia	Florida Atlantic University	
Panama	University of North Carolina at Charlotte	
Philippines (GA1, GA3, HLPF)	Texas Tech University	
Poland	Clemson University	
Republic of Korea	Riverside City College	
Rwanda	Pace University	
Thailand	New Mexico State University	
Tunisia	Mercy College	
United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas	
Viet Nam	The University of Texas at Dallas	

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Angola	Valdosta State University			
Argentina	Texas A&M University at Galveston			
Bangladesh	Saint Peter's University			
Chile	California State University, Los Angeles			
China	Manhattan College			
Cuba	Stockton University			
Eswatini	Boston College			
France	Baylor University			
Germany	West Virginia University			
Ghana (GA1, GA3, HLPF, UNEA)	Universidad EAFIT			
Hungary	Georgia Tech			
Iran	Wake Forest University			
Italy	Baylor University			
Kenya	Syracuse University, Maxwell School			
Mexico	Duquesne University			
Nicaragua	Florida Atlantic University			
Norway	West Virginia University			
Pakistan	Texas Tech University			
Russian Federation	California State University, Los Angeles			
Turkey	Florida Atlantic University			
Turkmenistan	Boston College			
Ukraine	Tallahassee Community College			
United States of America	California State University, San Bernardino			
Zimbabwe	Monmouth University			

	Outstanding Pos	sition Papers
	Botswana	California State University, Northridge
ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council Plenary	France	Baylor University
	Germany	West Virginia University
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
GA1 - General Assembly First Committee	Austria	Rock Valley College
	Botswana	California State University, Northridge
	Finland	The Catholic University of America
	Guatemala	McMurry University
	Italy	Baylor University
	Jamaica	University of New Haven
	Rwanda	Pace University
	Ukraine	Tallahassee Community College
	Botswana	California State University, Northridge
	France	Baylor University
	Germany	West Virginia University
GA3 - General Assembly	Italy	Baylor University
Third Committee	Jamaica	University of New Haven
	Madagascar	Brigham Young University
	Morocco	California State University, Chico
	Pakistan	Texas Tech University
	Finland	The Catholic University of America
	France	Baylor University
	India	The College of Idaho
HLPF - High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable	Kenya	Syracuse University, Maxwell School
Development	Morocco	California State University, Chico
	Republic of Korea	Riverside City College
	Sweden	Collin College
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
SC - Security Council	France	Baylor University
	Vietnam	The University of Texas at Dallas
UNDP - United Nations	Bangladesh	Saint Peter's University
Development Programme	Republic of Korea	Riverside City College
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
	Botswana	California State University, Northridge
	Cambodia	Riverside City College
	China	Manhattan College
UNEA - United Nations	Ecuador	Pepperdine University
Environment Assembly	France	Baylor University
	Ireland	University of New Haven
	Italy	Baylor University
	Tunisia	Mercy College
UN Women - United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women	China	Manhattan College
	Cuba	Stockton University
	Kenya	Syracuse University, Maxwell School
	Sweden	Collin College

Outstanding Delegates in Committee

ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council Plenary	Saudi Arabia	Brigham Young University
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
GA1 - General Assembly First Committee	Denmark	U.S. Air Force Academy
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
GA3 - General Assembly Third Committee	Ireland	University of New Haven
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas
HLPF - High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable	Jamaica	University of New Haven
Development	Panama	University of North Carolina at Charlotte
SC - Security Council	France	Baylor University
	Niger	Texas A&M University San Antonio
UNDP - United Nations Development Programme	Cuba	Stockton University
	Denmark	U.S. Air Force Academy
	New Zealand	St. Petersburg College
UNEA - United Nations Environment Assembly	Ecuador	Pepperdine University
	France	Baylor University
UN Women - United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women	Georgia	The University of Texas at Dallas
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas