## NATIONAL MODEL UNITED NATIONS

## 2020 NMUN•DC Awards

**Philosophy:** National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

**Criteria:** The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

**Types:** All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- 3. Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

Outstanding Delegations				
Australia	University of New Haven			
Austria	Florida Atlantic University			
Cambodia	Florida Atlantic University			
Ecuador	Irvine Valley College			
Eritrea	Riverside City College			
Estonia	University of New Haven			
Ethiopia	Georgia State University			
Kenya	Irvine Valley College			
Ukraine	Florida Atlantic University			
United Kingdom	Baylor University			
United States of America	Florida Atlantic University			

Distinguished Delegations		
Botswana	Florida Atlantic University	
Czech Republic	Valdosta State University	
France	The University of Arkansas	
India	West Virginia University	
Indonesia	Universidad San Francisco de Quito	
Israel	Montgomery College	
Mexico	Tallahassee Community College	
Netherlands	Florida Atlantic University	
Norway	Collin College	
Republic of Korea	St. Petersburg College	
Rwanda (UNEA, UNFPA)	Lone Star College-Tomball and Kingwood	
Sudan	The University of Texas at Dallas	
Viet Nam	Rock Valley College	

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Armenia	Pepperdine University			
Cameroon	California State University Northridge			
China	Syracuse University Maxwell School			
Iraq	Rutgers University			
Italy, El Salvador (UN-Habitat)	Valdosta State University			
Japan	Montgomery College			
Luxembourg	The University of Texas at Tyler			
Niger	Seton Hill University			
Pakistan	West Virginia University			
Paraguay	Pace University			
Peru	Florida Atlantic University			
Saudi Arabia	Suffolk University			
Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
Thailand, Russian Federation (SC)	Baylor University			
Tunisia	Texas Christian University			
Turkey	Brigham Young University			

Outstanding Position Papers				
	Australia	University of New Haven		
ECOSOC - Economic and	Bangladesh	Texas Christian University		
Social Council Plenary	Kenya	Irvine Valley College		
	Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University		
	Ecuador	Irvine Valley College		
	Kenya	Irvine Valley College		
GA1 - General Assembly	Niger	Seton Hill University		
First Committee	Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University		
	Thailand	Baylor University		
	United Kingdom	Baylor University		
	Angola	Baylor University		
	Argentina	Reitaku University		
GA2 - General Assembly	Ecuador	Irvine Valley College		
Second Committee	Estonia	University of New Haven		
	Italy	Valdosta State University		
	Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University		
	Argentina	Reitaku University		
HRC - Human Rights Council	Indonesia	Universidad San Francisco de Quito		
_	Pakistan	West Virginia University		
SC Security Council	China	Syracuse University Maxwell School		
SC - Security Council	United Kingdom	Baylor University		
	Angola	Baylor University		
	Argentina	Reitaku University		
UNEA - United Nations	Eritrea	Riverside City College		
Environment Assembly	Estonia	University of New Haven		
	Kenya	Irvine Valley College		
	Pakistan	West Virginia University		
	Argentina	Reitaku University		
	Belarus	Brigham Young University		
<b>UN-Habitat - United Nations</b>	Indonesia	Universidad San Francisco de Quito		
Human Settlements	Pakistan	West Virginia University		
Programme	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	Bellevue College		
	Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University		
UNFPA - United Nations	Czech Republic	Valdosta State University		
Population Fund	India	West Virginia University		
•	Switzerland	Northwestern Polytechnical University		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council Plenary	France	The University of Arkansas		
	Kenya	Irvine Valley College		
	Luxembourg	The University of Texas at Tyler		
	Netherlands	Florida Atlantic University		
	Australia	University of New Haven		
	Estonia	University of New Haven		
GA1 - General Assembly First	Netherlands	Florida Atlantic University		
Committee	Peru	Florida Atlantic University		
	Saudi Arabia	Suffolk University		
	United Kingdom	Baylor University		
	Australia	University of New Haven		
GA2 - General Assembly	Estonia	University of New Haven		
Second Committee	France	The University of Arkansas		
	United Kingdom	Baylor University		
	Australia	University of New Haven		
HRC - Human Rights Council	Austria	Florida Atlantic University		
Tike - Human Kights Council	Cameroon	California State University Northridge		
	Eritrea	Riverside City College		
SC - Security Council	France	The University of Arkansas		
	United Kingdom	Baylor University		
	Australia	University of New Haven		
UNEA - United Nations	France	The University of Arkansas		
Environment Assembly	India	West Virginia University		
	United States of America	Florida Atlantic University		
	Australia	University of New Haven		
UN-Habitat - United Nations Human Settlements Programme	Belarus	Brigham Young University		
	Eritrea	Riverside City College		
	Estonia	University of New Haven		
	United States of America	Florida Atlantic University		
LINEDA United Nations	Australia	University of New Haven		
UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund	Botswana	Florida Atlantic University		
	Ukraine	Florida Atlantic University		