

2013 NMUN-Latin America Awards

Philosophy: Although the NMUN recognizes the potential of awards to foster competition rather than collaboration in its simulation, awards continue to be offered in response to requests by the majority of participating schools. The Secretariat selects recipients based on the criteria and methodology outlined at www.nmun.org. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward. It advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues, and it has changed the lives of many delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process.

Criteria: The National Model United Nations has established a number of criteria for evaluating performance. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member state (or NGO). A complete explanation is available at nmun.org.

Types: Awards are given by NCCA in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by member state (or NGO if applicable). Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

Outstanding Delegations			
Azerbaijan	Hunter College		
India	Tallahassee Community College		
Japan	Grant MacEwan University		
Pakistan	Valdosta State University		

Distinguished Delegations				
Argentina	McMurry University			
China	Wichita State University			
Colombia	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus			
Greenpeace	Freie Universität Berlin			
Russian Federation	Texas Christian University			
Uruguay	University of Bridgeport			

Honorable Mention Delegations			
Belgium	Marian University		
Germany	The University of Texas at Tyler		
Guatemala	Bellevue College		
Poland	Bundeswehr University München		
Portugal	West Virginia University		
Togo	Clayton State University and Georgia State University		
Ukraine	University of Victoria		
United States	Manhattan College		

Special Recognition For Host Institution		
France	Corporación de Simulaciones Académicas	
South Africa	Universidad San Francisco de Quito	
Morocco	Universidad San Francisco de Quito	

Outstanding Position Papers			
SC	Colombia Russian Federation	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus Texas Christian University	
CPD	Colombia Pakistan	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus Valdosta State University	
CSTD	Germany Pakistan Uruguay	The University of Texas at Tyler Valdosta State University University of Bridgeport	
CSW	France Germany Pakistan	Corporación de Simulaciones Académicas The University of Texas at Tyler Valdosta State University	
CSD	France Russian Federation	Corporación de Simulaciones Académicas Texas Christian University	

Outstanding Delegates in Committee (Selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee.)			
SC	Azerbaijan	Hunter College	
CPD	France Japan	Corporación de Simulaciones Académicas Grant MacEwan University	
CSTD	Togo	Clayton State University and Georgia State University	
CSW	Argentina India	McMurry University Tallahassee Community College	
CSD	Azerbaijan Japan	Hunter College Grant MacEwan University	

SC=Security Council CPD=Commission on Population and Development CSTD=Commission on Science and Technology for Development

CSW=Commission on the Status of Women

CSD=Commission on Sustainable Development