

## 2013 NMUN•Korea Awards

**Philosophy:** National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

**Criteria:** The Secretariat selects recipients using criteria outlined at <a href="http://www.nmun.org/korea\_recognition.html">http://www.nmun.org/korea\_recognition.html</a>. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

**Types:** Awards are given by the National Collegiate College Association (NCCA) in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by Member State. Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

Outstanding Delegations				
Austria	Consules			
Libya	West Virginia University			
Nigeria	Texas Christian University			
Norway	Konkuk University (UNFCCC)			
Palestine	California State University, San Bernardino			
Qatar	Georgia State University			
Russian Federation	Grant MacEwan University			

Distinguished Delegations				
France	Riverside City College			
India	Georgia State University			
Luxembourg (Security Council)	Macquarie University			
Republic of Korea	Model United Nations of the Russian Far East			
Sweden	Consules			
Turkey	Wright State University			
United Kingdom	Texas Christian University			

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Argentina	De La Salle - College of St. Benilde			
Australia (GA)	Raffles Institution			
Azerbaijan	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies			
China	The University of Texas at Tyler			
Dem. People's Rep. of Korea	Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel			
Denmark	Concordia University College of Alberta			
Germany	Yonsei University			
Guatemala	Kinki University and Kyoto University of Foreign Studies			
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	California State University, San Bernardino			
Ireland	Catholic University of Korea			
Malawi	Kinki University and Kyoto University of Foreign Studies			
Pakistan	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus			
United States of America	Osaka University			

Outstanding Position Papers				
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Argentina Iran (Islamic Republic of) Palestine United Kingdom	De La Salle - College of St. Benilde California State University, San Bernardino California State University, San Bernardino Texas Christian University		
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	France India Turkey	Riverside City College Georgia State University Wright State University		
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)	France Iran (Islamic Republic of) Nigeria Turkey	Riverside City College California State University, San Bernardino Texas Christian University Wright State University		
Security Council (SC)	Argentina France United Kingdom	De La Salle - College of St. Benilde Riverside City College Texas Christian University		

Outstanding Delegations in Committee (selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee)				
General Assembly Plenary	Republic of Korea	Model United Nations of the Russian Far East		
(GA)	Qatar	Georgia State University		
	Russian Federation	Grant MacEwan University		
	India	Georgia State University		
	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	California State University, San Bernardino		
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Austria	Consules		
	France	Riverside City College		
	Turkey	Wright State University		
	India	Georgia State University		
	Russian Federation	Grant MacEwan University		
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)	Palestine	California State University, San Bernardino		
	France	Riverside City College		
	Qatar	Georgia State University		
	Turkey	Wright State University		
Security Council (SC)	Morocco	Model United Nations of Seoul		
, ,	France	Riverside City College		