

## 2016 NMUN•Japan (Kobe) Awards

**Philosophy:** National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

**Criteria:** To select award recipients at NMUN conferences, the Secretariat uses criteria outlined at <a href="www.nmun.org/policies codes.html">www.nmun.org/policies codes.html</a>. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

**Types:** Awards are given by the National Collegiate College Association (NCCA) in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by Member State. Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

## 2016 NMUN•Japan Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations			
Afghanistan	University of New Haven		
Angola	University of New Haven		
Costa Rica	Brigham Young University		
India	Georgia State University		
Mexico	Model UN of the Russian Far East		
Panama	Riverside City College		
Republic of Korea	MacEwan University		
South Africa	Université du Québec à Montréal		
Ukraine	University of Bridgeport		
Venezuela	De La Salle University-Manila		

Distinguished Delegations		
Argentina	Riverside City College	
Australia	Hyogo Consortium	
Ecuador	Model UN of the Russian Far East	
Ireland	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus	
Lebanon	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus	
United Kingdom	Stockton University	
United States of America	Georgia State University	

Honorable Mention Delegations			
Belgium	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
Brazil	Brigham Young University		
Congo	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
Japan	UNA Germany NRW		
Nigeria	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
Peru	University of Erfurt		
Portugal	McMurry University		
Somalia	Gaidai Rengo		
Switzerland	Reed College		
Uruguay	Concordia University of Edmonton		

Outstanding Position Papers				
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Angola	University of New Haven		
	Germany	Universidad de Santiago de Chile		
	Ghana	Hyogo Consortium		
	Portugal	McMurry University		
	Republic of Korea	MacEwan University		
	South Africa	Université du Québec à Montréal		
	United Kingdom	Stockton University		
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Argentina	Riverside City College		
	Congo	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Japan	UNA Germany NRW		
	Nigeria	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Panama	Riverside City College		
	South Africa	Université du Québec à Montréal		
Office of the United Nations	Belgium	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Japan	UNA Germany NRW		
High Commissioner for	Mexico	Model UN of the Russian Far East		
Refugees (UNHCR)	Rwanda	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	South Africa	Université du Québec à Montréal		
Socurity Council (SC)	Angola	University of New Haven		
Security Council (SC)	United Kingdom	Stockton University		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee (selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee)					
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Angola	University of New Haven			
	Belgium	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Czech Republic	Associazione World Students Connection			
	Lebanon	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus			
	Ukraine	University of Bridgeport			
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Afghanistan	University of New Haven			
	Belgium	De la Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	South Africa	Université du Québec Montréal			
	United States of America	Georgia State University			
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)	Argentina	Riverside City College			
	Belgium	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Mexico	Model UN of the Russian Far East			
	United Kingdom	Stockton University			
	United States of America	Georgia State University			
Security Council (SC)	Angola	University of New Haven			
	Venezuela	De La Salle University-Manila			