

2023 NMUN • Germany (Erfurt) Awards

Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- 3. Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

Outstanding Delegations				
Belarus (GA), Colombia (GA), Greece (GA), and Poland (GA)	De La Salle University Manila			
Bolivia	The University of Arkansas			
Brazil	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies			
Republic of Korea	Stanford University			
Senegal and Iraq (GA)	University of Texas at Dallas			
Switzerland	University of New Haven			
Türkiye	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies			
United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas			

2023 NMUN • Germany Award Recipients

Distinguished Delegations				
Bangladesh	Freie Universität Berlin			
Belgium	Marian University			
China	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg			
Honduras	Western Colorado University			
Kyrgyzstan	University of California, Riverside			
Luxembourg	UCU-NaUKMA-DGVN NRW			
Malawi	University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh			
Maldives	University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh			
Malta	Riverside City College			
Mozambique	Nara Medical University			
South Africa and Zimbabwe (GA)	University of New Hampshire			
Ukraine	MacEwan University			

	Honorable Mention Delegations	
Argentina and Italy (GA)	Okayama University	
Australia	The University of Texas at Tyler	
Cuba	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg	
Egypt	Northwestern Polytechnical University	
Finland and Uganda (GA)	University of Massachusetts Dartmouth	
France	University of Erfurt	
Georgia	Palacky University	
Ghana	Stockton University	
India	Riverside City College	
Kazakhstan	McMurry University	
Malaysia	California State University, Sacramento	
Morocco	Stockton University	
Nepal	University of California, Riverside	
Pakistan and Syrian Arab Republic (GA)	California State University, San Bernardino	
Qatar	Weber State University	
Russian Federation	Royal Holloway	
United Arab Emirates	Washburn University	
United States of America	Manhattan College	
Uzbekistan	Rochester Institute of Technology	

Outstanding Position Papers				
	Chile	University of Paderborn		
	Georgia	Palacky University		
	Japan	California State University, Sacramento		
	Malta	Riverside City College		
GA - General Assembly Plenary	Netherlands	Pepperdine University		
	Norway	Pepperdine University		
	Switzerland	University of New Haven		
	Syrian Arab Republic	California State University, San Bernardino		
	Uganda	University of Massachusetts Dartmouth		
	Benin	Northwestern Polytechnical University		
HRC - Human Rights Council	China	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen- Nuernberg		
	India	Riverside City College		
	Kyrgyzstan	University of California, Riverside		
	Luxembourg	UCU-NaUKMA-DGVN NRW		
SC - Security Council	France	University of Erfurt		
	Switzerland	University of New Haven		
	Austria	West Virginia University		
	Bangladesh	Freie Universität Berlin		
UNEA - United Nations Environment Assembly	Malta	Riverside City College		
	Mozambique	Nara Medical University		
	Ukraine	MacEwan University		
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
GA - General Assembly Plenary	Honduras	Western Colorado University		
	Switzerland	University of New Haven		
HRC - Human Rights Council	Bolivia	The University of Arkansas		
	Paraguay	University of Texas at Dallas		
SC - Security Council	Malta	Riverside City College		
	Russian Federation	Royal Holloway		
UNEA - United Nations Environment Assembly	Brazil	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies		
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas		