

2019 NMUN • Germany (Erfurt) Awards

Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

2019 NMUN • Germany Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations			
Belgium	University of New Haven		
Iran	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg		
Peru	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg		
Poland	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies		

Distinguished Delegations				
Argentina	The University of Arkansas			
Chile	Riverside City College			
Germany	Long Island University Brooklyn Campus			
Indonesia	Pepperdine University			
Kuwait	Riverside City College			
Nepal	University College Freiburg			
Russian Federation	University of Erfurt			
Sweden	Texas Christian University			
Switzerland	The University of Arkansas			
Tunisia	Georgia State University			
United Kingdom	University of California Riverside			

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Angola	University of Lagos			
Austria	National University Kyiv Mohyla Academy/Ukrainian Catholic University			
China	Valdosta State University			
Czech Republic	Texas Christian University			
Eswatini	The University of Kitakyushu			
Gambia	Georgia State University			
Italy	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies			
Japan	University of New Haven			
Mexico	University College Freiburg			
Nigeria	Wichita State University			
Senegal	Notre Dame Seishin/Okayama University			
South Africa	The University of Arkansas			
Syrian Arab Republic	TriMUN / University of Trier			
United Arab Emirates	Roanoke College			
United States of America	University of North Alabama			

Outstanding Position Papers				
GA - General Assembly Plenary	Argentina	The University of Arkansas		
	Canada	Wichita State University		
	India	University of Erfurt		
	Peru	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen- Nuernberg		
	Philippines	New Mexico State University		
	Slovakia	King's College		
	South Africa	The University of Arkansas		
HRC - Human Rights Council	Austria	National University Kyiv Mohyla Academy/		
		Ukrainian Catholic University		
	India	University of Erfurt		
	Mexico	University College Freiburg		
	Nepal	University College Freiburg		
IAEA - International Atomic Energy Agency	Australia	University of Regensburg		
	Bangladesh	California State University San Bernardino		
	China	Valdosta State University		
	Hungary	McMurry University		
	Japan	University of New Haven		
	Syrian Arab Republic	TriMUN / University of Trier		
SC - Security Council	China	Valdosta State University		
	France	DGVN NRW		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
GA - General Assembly	Kuwait	Riverside City College		
Plenary	Switzerland	The University of Arkansas		
HRC - Human Rights Council	Chile	Riverside City College		
	Japan	University of New Haven		
IAEA - International Atomic Energy Agency	Argentina	The University of Arkansas		
	Belgium	University of New Haven		
	Egypt	The University of Arkansas		
SC - Security Council	Indonesia	Pepperdine University		
	United States of America	University of North Alabama		