

## 2014 NMUN•Europe (Rome) Awards

**Philosophy:** National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

**Criteria:** To select award recipients at NMUN conferences, the Secretariat uses criteria outlined at <a href="http://www.nmun.org/europe14">http://www.nmun.org/europe14</a> recognition.html. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

**Types:** Awards are given by the National Collegiate College Association (NCCA) in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by Member State. Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

## 2014 NMUN•Europe (Rome) Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations		
Angola	Riverside City College	
Canada	The University of Arkansas	
Ecuador	MacEwan University	
Holy See	Richard Stockton College	
Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde	
Netherlands	MacEwan University	
Pakistan	Georgia State University	
Serbia	Austin College	
Tunisia	Georgia State University	

Distinguished Delegations		
Argentina	McMurry University	
Australia	Virginia Wesleyan College	
Croatia	Austin College	
Denmark	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus	
El Salvador	Université du Québec à Montréal	
Indonesia	Georgia State University	
Russian Federation	Frankfurt School of Finance and Management	
Togo	Brigham Young University	

Honorable Mention Delegations			
Albania	eMUN-fellows.net		
Algeria	University of Lagos Nigeria		
Belarus	West Virginia University		
Brazil	The University of Arkansas		
Chile (SC)	eMUN-fellows.net		
China	Consules		
Cuba	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus		
Democratic People's Rep. of Korea	MacEwan University		
Eritrea	Concordia University College of Alberta		
Georgia	University of Lagos Nigeria		
Guatemala	Riverside City College		
Ireland	Comenius University in Bratislava		
Jordan	Concordia University College of Alberta		
Nigeria	Richard Stockton College		
South Africa	Bellevue College		
Uruguay	University of Bridgeport		

Outstanding Position Papers				
	Argentina	McMurry University		
	Bangladesh	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Canada	The University of Arkansas		
	Ecuador	MacEwan University		
Conoral Assembly Planary	Guatemala	Riverside City College		
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Hungary	University of Cyprus		
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Netherlands	MacEwan University		
	Norway	Comenius University in Bratislava		
	Sweden	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Uruguay	University of Bridgeport		
Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)	Croatia	Austin College		
	Guatemala	Riverside City College		
	Indonesia	Georgia State University		
	Nepal	University Saint-Louis		
	Sweden	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Bangladesh	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Germany	Macquarie University		
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)	Iraq	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
	South Africa	Bellevue College		
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas		
	United States of America	Texas Christian University		
Security Council (SC)	France	The University of Texas at Tyler		
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee (selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee)				
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Angola	Riverside City College		
	Croatia	Austin College		
	Democratic People's Rep. of Korea	MacEwan University		
	Holy See	Richard Stockton College		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Togo	Brigham Young University		
Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)	El Salvador	Université du Québec à Montréal		
	Sweden	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
Food and Amicultura	Canada	The University of Arkansas		
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)	Indonesia	Georgia State University		
Organization (FAO)	Pakistan	Georgia State University		
Security Council (SC)	Chile	eMUN-fellows.net		
	Russian Federation	Frankfurt School of Finance and Management		
	United Kingdom	The University of Arkansas		