

## 2012 NMUN-EUROPE Awards

The National Model United Nations has established a number of criteria for evaluating performance. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member state (or NGO). A complete explanation is available at nmun.org. Awards are given by NCCA in recognition of preparation through Position Paper Awards, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by member state (or NGO). Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

Outstanding Delegations		
Bolivia	Université du Québec à Montréal	
Brazil	Texas Christian University	
Cambodia	University of Montana	
Lebanon	The University of Texas at Tyler	
Portugal	ILERI	

Distinguished Delegations				
Colombia	Palacký University			
Cuba	Bellevue College			
Egypt	Texas Christian University			
France	Royal Holloway, University of London			
Kenya	Long Island University Brooklyn			
Saudi Arabia	Royal Holloway, University of London			
South Africa	Long Island University Brooklyn			
Venezuela	University of Vienna			

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Australia	Newcastle University			
Belgium	University of Freiburg			
Bosnia and Herzegovina	De La Salle College of St. Benilde			
Costa Rica	University of Mannheim			
Ecuador	Riverside Community College			
Ghana	University of Education Winneba, Kumasi			
India	EDHEC			
Netherlands	ILERI			
New Zealand	The American University of Paris			
Philippines	De La Salle College of St. Benilde			
United Kingdom	Zeppelin University			
United States of America	Riverside Community College			

## **OUTSTANDING POSITION PAPERS**

(Selected by the director and assistant director in each committee.)

•	1
Argentina	EDHEC
Bosnia and	
Herzegovina	De La Salle College of St. Benilde
Brazil	Texas Christian University
India	EDHEC
United States of	
America	Riverside Community College
Brazil	Texas Christian University
Lebanon	The University of Texas at Tyler
South Africa	Long Island University Brooklyn
Egypt	Texas Christian University
<u> </u>	Constantine the Philosopher
Germany	University
•	
India	EDHEC
Lebanon	The University of Texas at Tyler
United States of	
America	Riverside Community College
Chile	Ramapo College of New Jersey
Colombia	Palacký University
Czech Republic	Ecole Polytechnique
	Herzegovina Brazil India United States of America  Brazil Lebanon South Africa  Egypt Germany India Lebanon United States of America  Chile Colombia

## **OUTSTANDING DELEGATES IN COMMITTEE**

(Selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee.)

General Assembly Plenary	Bolivia	Université du Québec à Montréal
General Assembly Plenary	Cambodia	University of Montana
General Assembly Plenary	Kenya	Long Island University Brooklyn
General Assembly Plenary	Venezuela	University of Vienna
Security Council	Brazil	Texas Christian University
Security Council	Lebanon	The University of Texas at Tyler
Security Council	United Kingdom	Zeppelin University
UN Conference on Sustainable	Brazil	
Development		Texas Christian University
UN Conference on Sustainable	Cambodia	
Development		University of Montana
UN Conference on Sustainable	Cuba	
Development		Bellevue College
UN Conference on Sustainable	Lebanon	-
Development		The University of Texas at Tyler
EU - Latin America and Caribbean	Bolivia	
Summit		Université du Québec à Montréal
EU - Latin America and Caribbean	Brazil	
Summit		Texas Christian University
EU - Latin America and Caribbean	France	Royal Holloway, University of
Summit		London

## **Awards Philosophy**

Although the NMUN recognizes the potential of awards to foster competition rather than collaboration in its simulation, awards continue to be offered in response to requests by the majority of participating schools. The Secretariat selects recipients based on the criteria and methodology outlined at www.nmun.org/awards.htm. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward. It advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues, and it has changed the lives of many delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process.