

2018 NMUN • China (Xi'an) Awards

Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- 3. Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

2018 NMUN • China Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations			
Afghanistan	University of California-Riverside		
Benin (ECOSOC)	Swiss Study Foundation / ETH Zurich		
Chile	Model United Nations of the Russian Far East		
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	Brigham Young University		
Equatorial Guinea	Riverside City College		
France	University of New Haven		

Distinguished Delegations				
Bolivia	Texas Christian University			
China	The University of Arkansas			
Germany	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
Italy	University of Erfurt			
Kazakhstan	Pepperdine University			
Republic of Korea	The University of Arkansas			
South Africa	West Virginia University			
Sudan	Brigham Young University			
Tajikistan	Brigham Young University			
United Arab Emirates	MacEwan University			

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Belarus	McDaniel College			
Czech Republic	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
Ecuador	Texas Christian University			
Ethiopia	China People's Police University			
India	Stockton University			
Kuwait	Georgia State University			
Malawi	Naval University of Engineering-PLA			
Morocco	Georgia State University			
Netherlands	University of Bridgeport			
Romania	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
Russian Federation	University of Erfurt			
Spain	University of Erfurt			
Turkey	University of New Orleans			
United Kingdom	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus			

International Spirit Delegations			
Denmark and Guyana	Sichuan University		
Ghana	Kaifeng Model United Nations Association		
Ireland	NPU-MingDe College		

Outstanding Position Papers			
	Chile	Model United Nations of the Russian Far East	
Francis and Social Course	China	The University of Arkansas	
Economic and Social Council	Colombia	Consules	
Plenary (ECOSOC)	Italy	University of Erfurt	
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde	
	Bolivia	Texas Christian University	
	Equatorial Guinea	Riverside City College	
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	India	Stockton University	
	Iran	McMurry University	
	Kazakhstan	Pepperdine University	
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde	
Security Council (SC) Russian Feder Sweden	Russian Federation	University of Erfurt	
	Sweden	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies	
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)	Equatorial Guinea	Riverside City College	
	India	Stockton University	
	Italy	University of Erfurt	
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde	
	Netherlands	University of Bridgeport	
	Russian Federation	University of Erfurt	
	Spain	University of Erfurt	

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	China	The University of Arkansas		
	Mexico	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Afghanistan	University of California-Riverside		
	Kazakhstan	Pepperdine University		
	United Kingdom	Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus		
Security Council (SC)	Kazakhstan	Pepperdine University		
	Poland	University of New Orleans		
	Russian Federation	University of Erfurt		
UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)	Equatorial Guinea	Riverside City College		
	Sudan	Brigham Young University		