

## 2017 NMUN • Canada (Banff) Awards

**Philosophy:** National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

**Criteria:** The Secretariat uses the awards criteria outlined at <a href="www.nmun.org/awards-criteria.html">www.nmun.org/awards-criteria.html</a> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

**Types:** All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- 3. Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

## 2017 NMUN•Canada Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations				
Ethiopia	Georgia State University	Georgia State University		
France	MacEwan University			
Israel	The University of Arkansas	The University of Arkansas		
Turkey	Georgia State University			
Zimbabwe	MacEwan University	MacEwan University		

Distinguished Delegations		
China	Riverside City College	
Iran	Riverside City College	
Iraq	The University of Arkansas	
Italy	University of Bridgeport	
Peru	Tallahassee Community College	
United States of America	California State University-San Bernardino	

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Brazil	University of New Haven			
Colombia	University of Erfurt			
Germany	The University of Texas at Dallas			
Japan	The University of Arkansas			
Norway	DGVN NRW			
Russian Federation	Valdosta State University			
South Africa	University of Erfurt			
Uruguay	Hawaii Pacific University			

Outstanding Position Papers				
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Colombia	University of Erfurt		
	Iran	Riverside City College		
	Iraq	The University of Arkansas		
	Peru	Tallahassee Community College		
	Republic of Korea	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde		
Farmannia and Casial Council	Norway	DGVN NRW		
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Peru	Tallahassee Community College		
	United Kingdom	Tallahassee Community College		
United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA)	Brazil	University of New Haven		
	China	Riverside City College		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Uruguay	Hawaii Pacific University		
Security Council (SC)	Egypt	Kobe City University of Foreign Studies		
	United Kingdom	Tallahassee Community College		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
General Assembly Plenary (GA)	Iran	Riverside City College		
	Israel	The University of Arkansas		
	Peru	Tallahassee Community College		
	United States of America	California State University-San Bernardino		
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Iraq	The University of Arkansas		
	Italy	University of Bridgeport		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA)	China	Riverside City College		
	Israel	The University of Arkansas		
Assembly (ONLA)	United States of America	California State University-San Bernardino		
Security Council (SC)	China	Riverside City College		
	United Kingdom	Tallahassee Community College		