

2010 NMUN-NY Awards (Sheraton)

The National Model United Nations has established a number of criteria for evaluating performance. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member state (or NGO). A more complete explanation is on page 46 of the program. More than 300 universities attended the 2010 NMUN. Awards are given by NCCA in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by member state (or NGO). Committee delegates voted on peer awards which will be listed by committee but in random order (not ranked).

	COUNTRY	SCHOOL
	Antigua and Barbuda	Alma College
	Brunei Darussalam	Victor Valley College
	Canada	The Hudson River Group
	Ethiopia	University of Washington
uo	Germany	Wright State University
Delegation	International Chamber of Commerce	Wright State University
leg	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	University of Colorado Boulder
Del	Mexico	University of Greifswald
бL	Namibia	Chemnitz University of Technology
Outstanding	Netherlands	Texas Christian University
	Peru	The University of California Riverside
	Switzerland	Yonsei University
	Timor-Leste	City College New York
	Trinidad and Tobago	Universidad Central de Venezuela
	United States of America	Université de Montréal
	Venezuela	Rider University
	Zimbabwe	University of British Columbia

Distinguished Delegation	Albania	University of St Andrews
	Algeria	California State University, Chico
	Algeria	Japan Model UN
	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Marian University
	Chile	Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg
	Denmark	California State University, Chico
	Denmark	Japan Model UN
	Egypt	Bayreuth University
	Haiti	Pace University
	Iraq	Western Washington University
	Israel	Universidad San Francisco de Quito

Distinguished Delegation (cont.)	Jamaica	Carleton University
	Japan	Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen
	Lebanon	University of Bonn
	Luxembourg	Union College
	Seychelles	Collin College
	Sierra Leone	University of Texas at Dallas
	Slovenia	CUNY Baruch College
	Tajikistan	Baylor University
	Thailand	Macalester College
		California State University, Los
	Turkey	Angeles
	Ukraine	Lone Star College-Kingwood
	Ukraine	Lone Star College-Montgomery
	Ukraine	Lone Star College-Tomball

	Andorra	University of St Andrews
	Burundi	University of Colorado Boulder
		Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu
	Cambodia	Kiel
	China	University of Duisburg-Essen
		Long Island University-Brooklyn
	Congo	Campus
	Côte d'Ivoire	University of California, Santa Barbara
	Croatia	Lynchburg College
	Dem. Republic of the Congo	Berry College
	Djibouti	Park University
_	Finland	Monmouth University
tior	Gabon	Edhec Business School
eni	Holy See	University of Essex
Honorable Mention	Indonesia	Grant MacEwan University
ple	Kuwait	Hawai'i Pacific University
ora		University of Maryland, Baltimore
ouo	Kyrgyzstan	County
Т	Mauritania	Santa Fe College
	Mauritius	Royal Holloway, University of London
	Nigeria	Johnson County Community College
	Palestine	Golden West College
		Julius-Maximilian-University
	Qatar Depublic of Konge	Wuerzburg
	Republic of Korea	Sciences Po Lille
	Senegal	Université Libre de Bruxelles École des sciences de la gestion-
	Tunisia	-
	Viet Nam	SUNY Oneonta
	Tunisia United Arab Emirates Uzbekistan Viet Nam	UQAM Randolph College Goethe-University

	Algeria	California State University Chico
	Algeria	California State University, Chico
		Japan Model UN
	Antigua and Barbuda Brunei Darussalam	Alma College
		Victor Valley College
	Canada	The Hudson River Group
	Chile	Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg
	China	University of Duisburg-Essen
	Cuba	Chapman University
	Egypt	Bayreuth University
	Ethiopia	University of Washington
	Germany	Wright State University
	Haiti	Pace University
L U	International Chamber of	
ape	Commerce	Wright State University
Ä	Israel	Universidad San Francisco de Quito
lon	Japan	Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen
Outstanding Position Paper	Kuwait	Hawai'i Pacific University
Ьо	Lao People's Dem. Republic	Universität Regensburg
βĽ	Luxembourg	Union College
dir	Netherlands	Texas Christian University
ar	New Zealand	Goethe-University
itst		Julius-Maximilian-University
б	Qatar	Wuerzburg
	Rwanda	Francis Marion University
	Senegal	Université Libre de Bruxelles
	Thailand	Macalester College
	Trinidad and Tobago	Universidad Central de Venezuela
		École des sciences de la gestion-
	Tunisia	UQAM
		California State University, Los
	Turkey	Angeles
	United Arab Emirates	Randolph College
	United States of America	Université de Montréal
	Uruguay	Universität Regensburg
	Uzbekistan	Goethe-University
	Venezuela	Rider University

GA Plenary	USA
GA 1 st Committee	Cuba
GA 2 nd Committee	Algeria
GA 3 rd Committee	Sao Tome & Principe
Security Council – A	Japan
Security Council – B	Russian Federation
Security Council Working Group	Japan
	Counselor Samii and
ICJ	Judge Tompkins
ECOSOC PLENARY	USA
CDP	Thailand
CSustD	ICC
CSW	Germany
ECLAC	Antigua and Barbuda
IAEA	(incomplete)
UNHCR	Canada
UNICEF	USA
WFP	Iran
AU	Zimbabwe
ASEAN	Brunei-Darussalam
NATO	Luxembourg
OIC	Iraq
	· · ·

(Selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee)

Awards Philosophy

Although the NMUN recognizes the potential of awards to foster competition rather than collaboration in its simulation, awards continue to be offered in response to requests by the majority of participating schools. The Secretariat selects recipients based on the criteria and methodology outlined at www.nmun.org/awards.htm. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward. It advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues, and it has changed the lives of many delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process.