

2011 NMUN-New York (Sheraton)

The National Model United Nations has established a number of criteria for evaluating delegation performance across all assigned committees. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. For delegations awards, NMUN staff in each committee selects outstanding participants for each session. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated based on a mathematical formula that includes the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State. A complete explanation is found at www.nmun.org. Similarly, Position Paper Awards recognize consistency of quality across committees. Outstanding preparation and participation in committees for which there was a separate application, the International Court of Justice and the Summit of the Americas, are recognized through peer-selected awards only.

Overall delegation awards include Position Paper Awards and the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation which recognize work during NMUN. These and individual committee awards voted on my delegates in committee are listed below in alphabetical order.

	Austria	California State University, Chico						
	Brazil	Texas Christian University						
	Canada (joint)	University of Bonn						
	Canada (joint)	University of Lodz						
	Chad	Bocconi University						
	China	Universidad San Francisco de Quito						
	Finland	University of Regensburg						
	Gabon	Universität Bayreuth						
Ś	Italy	University of Ottawa						
Dera	Jamaica	Wichita State University						
Рар	Japan	Wright State University						
Б	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	Alma College						
sitic	Malaysia	University of Bamberg						
Outstanding Position Papers	Mozambique	Queens College						
	Netherlands	Saint Mary's University						
	Nigeria	Rider University						
sta	Norway	Duisburg-Essen Model United Nations						
Dut	Pakistan	West Virginia University						
0	Russian Federation (joint)	Ludwig Maximilians University Munich						
	Russian Federation (joint)	University of Magdeburg						
	Slovakia	Union College						
	Spain	California State University, Los Angeles						
	Sudan	Universität St. Gallen						
	Tajikistan	Università per Stranieri di Perugia						
	Tunisia	MUNICH						
	Tuvalu	Alma College						
	Ukraine	Chemnitz University of Technology						

	Austria	California State University Chico
	Brazil	Texas Christian University
	Congo	University of Texas at Dallas
	Honduras	University of New Orleans
	Hungary	Patrick Henry College
ations	Italy	University of Ottawa
	Japan	Wright State University
	Kazakhstan	Georgia State University
eg	Kyrgyzstan	Georgia State University
Del	Lebanon	Universidad Central de Venezuela
Outstanding Delegations	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	Alma College
	New Zealand	Johnson County Community College
	Nigeria	Rider University
	Portugal	Western Washington University
	Russian Federation	University of Magdeburg
	Russian Federation	Ludwig Maximilians University Munich
	Slovakia	Union College
	Tuvalu	Alma College
	United Republic of	
	Tanzania	Long Island University Brooklyn Campus
	Uruguay	Florida International University

	1						
	Argentina	Universite libre de Bruxelles					
	Azerbaijan	Sonoma State University					
	China	Universidad San Francisco de Quito					
	Colombia	Edhec Business School					
		Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de					
	Costa Rica	Monterrey sede Zona Esmeralda					
	France	Università degli Studi Roma Tre					
	Iraq	Lynchburg College					
	Israel	University of California, Santa Barbara					
ns	Kuwait	Santa Fe College					
tio	Mali	Italian Diplomatic Academy					
ga	Mongolia	Macalester College					
ele	Netherlands	Saint Mary's University					
Ō	Nicaragua	Lone Star College-Kingwood					
Distinguished Delegations	Nicaragua	Lone Star College-Montgomery					
ish	Nicaragua	Lone Star College - Tomball					
nɓi	Poland	University of Graz					
îtir	Saudi Arabia	Sciences Po					
Dis	Sierra Leone	Pace University-NYC					
	Singapore	The City College of New York					
	Somalia	Hunter College					
	Spain	California State University, Los Angeles					
	Suriname	University of California, San Diego					
	Sweden	University of Colorado at Boulder					
	Tajikistan	Università per Stranieri di Perugia					
	Ukraine	Chemnitz University of Technology					
	United Kingdom	University of Maryland, Baltimore County					
	Zambia	Royal Holloway University of London					
	•						

	Belgium	Loyola University Chicago
	Canada	University of Bonn
	Canada	
		University of Lodz
	Cuba	Augusta State University
	Dominican Republic	Hunter College
	El Salvador	University of Reading
	Finland	University of Regensburg
	Germany	Northwestern Polytechnical University
	Guatemala	University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point
uo	Guinea	WWU Münster
ent	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	University of New Hampshire
Σ	Ireland	Wells College
<u>e</u>	Lesotho	University of Essex
La b	Micronesia (Federated	
	States of)	University of Colorado at Boulder
Honorable Mention	Mozambique	Queens College
	Pakistan	West Virginia University
	Peru	Miami Dade College
	Republic of Korea	Baruch College
	Romania	De La Salle - College of Saint Benilde
	Sudan	Universität St. Gallen
	Turkey	Freie Universität Berlin
	United States of America	ESCP Europe Paris
	Venezuela	Julius-Maximilians-University Wuerzburg
	Zimbabwe	Collin College

Awards Philosophy

No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward. It advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues, and it has changed the lives of many delegates. We urge participants to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers.

	General Assembly	Iran	Tanzania				Uruguay			
Outstanding Delegates in Committee (Peer Voting)	First Committee General Assembly	Saudi Arabia			Somalia			Uruguay		
	Second Committee General Assembly	Brazil		Russi	sian Sierra L		a Le	eone Uruguay		Uruguay
	Third Committee			ederation						
	Human Rights Council	Russian Federation		United States of America			f	Uruguay		
	ECOSOC Plenary	Italy		United Kingdom			n I	Uruguay		
	Commission on the Status of Women	Cuba	Cuba		Iraq Libya			a Uruguay		
	Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice	Japan		Turkey				Uruguay		
	Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific	Japan		Micronesia				Tuvalu		
	Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia	Lebanon		Qatar				Saudi Arabia		
	UN Population Fund	Austria		The Netherlands			5	Russian Federation		
	World Intellectual Property Organization	Sierra Leone		Somalia				Uruguay		
	UN Environment Programme	Brazil		China Hung		unga	ary Uruguay			
stanc	UN Children's Fund	Italy		Russian Federation			on	Uruguay		
Outs	Group of Twenty	Hungary		Indonesia			Saudi Arabia			
	African Development Bank	Brazil		Congo			Japan			
	Organization of American States	Argentina		Cuba		Dominica Republic		5,		
	Organization for Security and Co- operation in Europe	Slovakia		Sweder		den		United Kingdom		l Kingdom
	Security Council (A)	Austria		China		Russia		a Japan		Japan
	Security Council (B)	France							Russia	
	International Court of Justice	Georgia						Slovakia		
	Treaty on the Non- proliferation of Nuclear Weapons	Brazil	Domin Repul				U	Jruguay Venezu		Venezuela