

2014 NMUN•DC Awards

Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses criteria outlined at <u>www.nmun.org/dc_recognition.html</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: Awards are given by the National Collegiate College Association (NCCA) in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by Member State. Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

Outstanding Delegations				
Austria	St. Petersburg College			
Chile	Syracuse University-Maxwell School			
China	Rock Valley College			
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	California National Team			
Ghana	West Virginia University			
Japan	Irvine Valley College			
Kuwait	California State University, San Marcos			
Lesotho	California State University, Northridge			
Luxembourg	University of California, Riverside			
New Zealand	Irvine Valley College			
Poland	Irvine Valley College			
Somalia	Collin College			
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)	Kedge Business School			
Yemen	Collin College			

Distinguished Delegations		
Azerbaijan	Samford University	
Chad	Santiago Canyon College	
Ecuador	Mercy College	
Egypt	University of Colorado Boulder	
El Salvador	The University of Texas at Dallas	
Guinea	Princeton University	
Israel	University of Colorado Boulder	
Jordan	Georgia Regents University	
Libya	The University of Tokyo	
Nigeria	West Virginia University	
Rwanda	The University of Texas at Dallas	
Sweden	University of New Haven	
Turkey	University of Colorado Boulder	
Uruguay	University of Bridgeport	

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Algeria (GA1, UNCTAD, WHO)	Princeton University			
Argentina	Montgomery College			
Australia	Juniata College			
Bangladesh	De La Salle University-Manila			
Costa Rica	Texas Christian University			
Côte d'Ivoire	West Virginia University			
Czech Republic	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Ramapo College of New Jersey			
Germany	The Washington Center			
India	Georgia College			
Indonesia	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
Norway	Hunter College			
Pakistan	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
Republic of Korea	University of Maryland, Baltimore County			
Romania	Samford University			
Russian Federation	Texas Christian University			
United Kingdom	Manhattan College			
United Republic of Tanzania	University of La Verne			

	Outstanding Position Papers				
	Belarus	Universitas Gadjah Mada			
	Cameroon	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Ecuador	Mercy College			
	Egypt	University of Colorado Boulder			
General Assembly First (GA1)	Finland	Pace University New York City			
	Ghana	West Virginia University			
	Hungary	Pace University New York City			
	Japan	Irvine Valley College			
	Kuwait	California State University, San Marcos			
	Netherlands	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
	Norway	Hunter College			
	Cameroon	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Chad	Santiago Canyon College			
	Cote d'Ivoire	West Virginia University			
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)	Democratic People's Republic of Korea	California National Team			
	Ghana	West Virginia University			
	Japan	Irvine Valley College			
	Pakistan	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Poland	Irvine Valley College			
	Belgium	The University of Tokyo			
	Cameroon	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Chad	Santiago Canyon College			
	Cote d'Ivoire	West Virginia University			
World Health Organization (WHO)	Democratic People's Republic of Korea	California National Team			
()	Finland	Pace University New York City			
	Indonesia	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Ireland	Santiago Canyon College			
	Japan	Irvine Valley College			
	Luxembourg	University of California, Riverside			
United Nations High	New Zealand	Irvine Valley College			
Commissioner for Refugees	Nigeria	West Virginia University			
(UNHCR)	Norway	Hunter College			
(,	Uganda	Hunter College			
	United States of America	Virginia Wesleyan College			
	Indonesia	De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde			
	Japan	Irvine Valley College			
Economic and Social Council	New Zealand	Irvine Valley College			
Plenary (ECOSOC)	Nigeria	West Virginia University			
	United Kingdom	Manhattan College			
	Czech Republic	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND)	Germany	The Washington Center			
	Netherlands	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
	Nigeria	West Virginia University			
	Republic of Korea	University of Maryland, Baltimore County			
	China	Rock Valley College			
Security Council (SC)	Jordan	Georgia Regents University			
Security Council (SC)	United Kingdom	Manhattan College			

Outstanding Delegates in Committee (selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee)

General Assembly First	Democratic People's	California National Team
(GA1)	Republic of Korea	
	Algeria	Princeton University
	China	Rock Valley College
United Nations Conference	Lesotho	California State University, Northridge
on Trade and Development	Poland	Irvine Valley College
(UNCTAD)	Romania	Samford University
(ONCIAD)	Rwanda	The University of Texas at Dallas
	Switzerland	Universitas Indonesia
	Uganda	Hunter College
World Health Organization (WHO)	Somalia	Collin College
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)	Somalia	Collin College
Economic and Social Council Plenary (ECOSOC)	Austria	St. Petersburg College
Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND)	Japan	Irvine Valley College
Security Council (SC)	Nigeria	West Virginia University
Security Council (SC)	United Kingdom	Manhattan College