

## 2012 NMUN-DC Awards

**Philosophy:** Although the NMUN recognizes the potential of awards to foster competition rather than collaboration in its simulation, awards continue to be offered in response to requests by the majority of participating schools. The Secretariat selects recipients based on the criteria and methodology outlined at www.nmun.org. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward. It advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues, and it has changed the lives of many delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process.

**Criteria:** The National Model United Nations has established a number of criteria for evaluating performance. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member state (or NGO). A complete explanation is available at nmun.org.

**Types:** Awards are given by NCCA in recognition of preparation, Outstanding Position Paper Awards in Committee, as well as other overall delegation awards based on work during NMUN in the categories of: Honorable Mention, Distinguished Delegation, and Outstanding Delegation. They are listed below in alphabetical order by member state (or NGO if applicable). Committee delegates voted on peer awards and are listed by committee but in alphabetical order (not ranked).

Outstanding Delegations			
Argentina	California State University Northridge		
China	University of California, Riverside		
Egypt	University of North Carolina at Charlotte		
France	Rock Valley College		
Kyrgyzstan	Hunter College		
Russian Federation	Irvine Valley College		

Distinguished Delegations			
Azerbaijan	University of Alberta, Augustana Faculty		
Côte d'Ivoire	Hunter College		
Cuba	Montgomery College		
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	University of Kentucky		
Kuwait	Hunter College		
Peru	Euromed Management		
Republic of Korea	The Washington Center		
Senegal	Collin College		
United Republic of Tanzania	Texas Christian University		
United States of America	Texas Christian University		
Venezuela	West Virginia University		

Honorable Mention Delegations				
Austria	Northwestern Polytechnical University			
Belgium	Juniata College			
Costa Rica	University of Alberta, Augustana Faculty			
Ecuador	Manhattan College			
	Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey,			
Finland	Campus San Luis Potosí			
Germany	Georgia College			
Ghana	Suffolk University			
Hungary	University of Texas at Dallas			
India	Hendrix College			
Ireland	Texas A&M International University			
Italy	Hostos Community College			
Libya	Samford University			
	Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey,			
Netherlands	Campus San Luis Potosí			
Philippines	Hardin-Simmons University			
Тодо	The Washington Center			
Uruguay	West Virginia University			

Outstanding Position Papers				
GA1	Azerbaijan	University of Alberta, Augustana Faculty		
GA1	Côte d'Ivoire	Hunter College		
SC	Russian Federation	Irvine Valley College		
SC	United States of America	Texas Christian University		
ECOSOC	Ecuador	Manhattan College		
HRC	Russian Federation	Irvine Valley College		
IAEA	Egypt	University of North Carolina at Charlotte		
IAEA	Netherlands	Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey		
IAEA	Russian Federation	Irvine Valley College		
WHO	Russian Federation	Irvine Valley College		

<b>Outstanding Delegates in Committee</b> (Selected by vote of the student delegates in each committee.)				
GA1	Afghanistan	Hunter College		
SC	India	Hendrix College		
SC	Тодо	The Washington Center		
ECOSOC	Senegal	Collin College		
ECOSOC	Zambia	The Washington Center		
HRC	Kuwait	Hunter College		
HRC	Mauritius	St. Petersburg College		
HRC	Peru	Euromed Management		
IAEA	China	University of California, Riverside		
WHO	<b>Russian Federation</b>	Irvine Valley College		